Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament of apostolic ministry.
It is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the church until the end of time. It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priest), and diaconate (deacon).

Holy-Orders-St.Patricks-SeminaryThe ministerial priesthood differs in essence from the common priesthood of the faithful because it confers a sacred power for the service of the faithful. The ordained ministers exercise their service for the People of God by teaching, divine worship, and pastoral governance. (CCC 1536, 1592)

St. Patrick’s Seminary & University
Menlo Park, CA
Established in 1898

St. Patrick’s Seminary & University maintains as its primary purpose the initial and ongoing formation of Roman Catholic priests in a contemporary multicultural world, especially for dioceses within the Western United States and the Pacific Rim. Learn more: http://www.stpatricksseminary.org/

To Be a Priest
SEVEN Men Answer NINE Questions About the Road to Priesthood